Supporting top researchers from anywhere in the world

Advanced Search | Glossary / A-Z | Sitemap

Share



<u>Home</u>

Funding and Grants

Projects and Results

Media and Events

About ERC

Contact us

You are here:

Working Group on Open Access

Since its creation, the ERC has been a strong supporter of the idea that the results stemming from publically funded research – including publications and primary data – should be made freely accessible on the Internet.

In December 2006, long before any grant was awarded, the ERC Scientific Council issued its first statement on Open Access. This statement was followed a year later by specific guidelines stating that all peer-reviewed publications from ERC funded projects should be made openly accessible shortly after their publication. All ERC grants awarded under a call from the 2012 or 2013 Work Programme normally contain a "Special Clause 39 ERC" that translates these guidelines into a formal obligation. For ERC grants awarded under Horizon 2020 (http://erc.europa.eu/glossary/itemy/388) Work Programmes (2014 and onwards), open access to publications is now mandatory. This includes monographs.

In its plenary session of 22 October 2013, the ERC Scientific Council adopted a revised version of its Open Access Guidelines, following a first update in 2012. The guidelines strongly encourage the use of discipline-specific repositories and in particular recommend the use of Europe PMC and arXiv, for the LS and PE domain http://erc.europa.eu/glossary/term/242) respectively. The Open Access Working Group of the Scientific Council currently debates the particular situation of the Social Sciences and Humanities concerning Open Access and may make specific recommendations for the SH domain (http://erc.europa.eu/glossary/term/242) in the future.

The FP7 Intrp://erc.europa.eu/glossary/term/266) funded OpenAIRE project provides ample background through the pro

Specific information on how to comply with the obligations applicable to ERC Grants that contain "Special Clause 39 ERC" can be found in the FP7 (http://erc.europa.eu/alossary nem/266) IPR Guidelines (in particular section 7.3).

Working Group Members:

Prof. Nicholas Canny (/get member/360) (Chair)

Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon (/get_member/3718)

Dr. Tim Hunt (/get_member/380)

Prof. Tomasz Dietl (/get member/375)

Prof. Klaus Bock (/get_member/3182)

Prof. Nils Stenseth (/get_member/3766)

Prof. Martin Stokhof (/get member/3768)

Prof. Michel Wieviorka (/get_member/3767)

ERCEA (http://erc.europa.eu/glossary/term/252) secretariat: Dr. Dagmar M. Meyer, Unit Support to the Scientific Council

1 of 1